Chakra means ‘wheel’ in Sanskrit. In this context, chakras are wheels of energy – continuously rotating.

They are sub-atomic energy centres located along the spinal column. Each centre carries a special energy level that causes the chakra to rotate at a speed of its own. The spine acts as a rod, conducting vertical energy flows into the head, down the spine, through the feet and into the earth. Each one is a point at which energy can be expressed in a certain set of actions, attitudes and emotions. The chakra is a map of the soul, which you must move along for healing to happen. An under active chakra is usually one in which energy is blocked or congested which results in lack of energy. People are believed to fall ill when their chakras lose alignment.

There are three master chakras – root, heart and crown, four major chakras – spleen, solar plexus, throat and brow and over 300 minor chakras.

Everything in life has a spiritual body and as such contains within it a chakra body. This body can open, expand and experience lessons and the external circumstances associated with it. As we work on a situation in our life, it generates energy, which in turn effects a specific chakra point. Everything in life has an energy pattern and it flows through the Chakra stem. In order for a particular energy to work, the chakra associated with it must be open and join in the process. As we move through life the lessons and energy we experience will stimulate a particular chakra, which in turn effects the physical body. For example, if a person feels the urge to speak their mind at a meeting, but are unable to express their feelings and holds back emotions, they may experience disturbances in the throat. Einstein theorised that all energy has a sound, a colour and intensity unique unto itself. He also gave us a clue for creating energy. He said ‘Thought is energy. To create it, just use your imagination.’ Use the energy that you create in positive ways. Use it to protect yourself from outside influences. Use it in creative endeavours. Use it for others.

First ChakraCalled the Root Chakra and is located at the base of the spine. This is where the kundalini is situated
VerbI have
OrgansAdrenals, bladder, genitals, spine
EmbodimentPhysical Body
OrientationSelf Preservation
ExperiencesWithin the material world
ExcessiveMoney, materialism, hoarding
DeficientFear, lack of discipline, ungroundedness, restlessness
FunctionLife force, survival, fertility, prosperity, procreation, vitality, stability, courage, self esteem concerned with basic drives and instincts - eating, protecting ones family and staying safe. In essence this chakra keeps the others alive
GemstonesRuby, garnet, smoky quartz, obsidian, onyx, hematite, bloodstone, red jasper
Essential oilsCedarwood, rosewood, thyme
Second ChakraCalled the Sacral or Splenic Chakra is located within the area bounded by the spleen and sexual centres approximately three inches below the navel. Usually people suffering from sexual blockages need healing here
VerbI Feel
OrgansReproductive organs, lymphatic glands, kidneys
EmbodimentEmotional Body
OrientationSelf Gratification
ExperiencesWithin the emotional world
ExcessiveOverly emotional, addictions, excessive attachments
DeficientRigidity, emotional numbness, fear of pleasure
FunctionPrimal feelings, desires, physical and sexual health, self esteem, relationships, enthusiasm, creativity, emotions, vitality. It is the seat of our gut reactions and deep visceral feelings
GemstonesMoonstone, carnelian, coral, agate
Essential OilsFennel, sandalwood, Cardamon
Third Chakra
Called the Solar Plexus Chakra and is located above the stomach just below the sternum. There is often a great amount of physical energy and power within this chakra or emanating from it.
I can
Pancreas, stomach, liver, gallbladder, solar plexus
Mental Body
Self Definition
Through personal will
Dominating, aggressive, scattered
Weak will, low self esteem, fearful, passive
Personal power, control, social identity, influence, inner harmony, inner strength, fear. It is here that opinions and judgment originate
Amber, topaz, citrine, tiger eye
Essential Oils Cedarwood, juniper, lime, lavender
Fourth Chakra
Called the heart chakra and is located in an area in the centre of the chest and is the heart centre
Green / Rose
I love
Thymus, heart, lungs, circulation
Astral Body
Self acceptance
Through unconditional love
Co-dependency, possessiveness, jealousy, poor boundaries
Shy, lonely, bitter, critical
Love of self and others, harmony, spiritual development, healing, compassion, relationships, trust, peace. It is the centre of transformation.
Emerald, tourmaline, rose quartz, jade
Essential Oils
Jasmine, marjoram, rose, orange, ylang ylang
Fifth ChakraCalled the throat chakra and is located in the centre of the throat. When people suffer from headaches or migraine and tension within the neck and shoulder muscles, often the basic cause is that the throat chakra has become blocked
VerbI Speak
OrgansThyroid, throat, upper lungs, arms, digestive system
EmbodimentEtheric Body
OrientationSelf Expression
ExcessiveInability to listen, excessive talking
DeficientPoor rhythm, fear of speaking
FunctionCommunication, expression, wisdom, freedom, inspiration, will, teaching, life experiences, sense of responsibility. It is the centre of personal creativity, articulation and maturity of life experience and wisdom.
GemstonesBlue sapphire, aquamarine, turquoise, lapis lazuli, chrysocolla, green aventurine
Essential OilsBasil, eucalyptus, frankincense, peppermint, sage
Sixth ChakraCalled the brow chakra or third eye chakra and is located between and slightly above the two brows on the forehead
VerbI See
OrgansPituitary gland, lower brain, nose, eyes, spine, ears
EmbodimentCelestial Body
OrientationSelf reflection
ExperiencesThrough perception and vision
ExcessiveHallucinations, difficulty concentration
DeficientPoor vision, denial , poor memory
FunctionIntuition, inner vision, imagination, concentration, peace of mind, thought control, spiritual awakening. It is the seat of intuitive knowledge and the right and left sides of the brain integrate here
GemstonesLapis lazuli, quartz, calcite, sodalite, blue sapphire, azurite
Essential OilsPine, Juniper
Seventh ChakraCalled the crown chakra and is located on top of the head. It is the chakra through which you obtain the highest understanding and the highest knowledge
ColourWhite / Violet
VerbI Know
OrgansPineal gland, upper brain, right eye
EmbodimentKetheric Body
OrientationSelf knowledge
ExperiencesThrough divine will
ExcessiveIntellectual, alienated, spiritual addiction
DeficientLearning difficulties, limited beliefs, materialism, depression
FunctionSpiritual awareness, connection with the higher self, inner guidance, universal consciousness, enlightenment
GemstonesAmethyst, diamond, white chalcedony, moss agate, selenite, moonstone, white opal
Essential OilsFrankincense, rose, pine